Anti-boycotting laws


U.S. anti-boycott laws prohibit individuals and entities from participating in a boycott that the U.S. government has not approved. The U.S. Department of Commerce publishes a list of recent examples of boycott requests.

The anti-boycott laws require the University to report any cooperation with an international boycott; any requests it receives to cooperate with a boycott; and any operations in or related to a boycotting country or with a government, a company or a national of a country on the U.S. Department of Treasury’s boycotting list.  The countries currently on the boycotting list are Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, and the Republic of Yemen.

Individuals conducting activities in a boycotting country must be aware of these anti-boycott laws.  All members of the Yale community must refuse to cooperate with a boycott and report any boycott request immediately to the Yale Office of General Counsel at (203) 432-4949. In addition, any Yale activities in or transactions with the government, a company or a national of the listed countries should be reported to the University Tax Office.  Violations of the anti-boycott laws may carry serious civil and criminal penalties for the University and individuals.

Previous     <<<< >>>>     Next