Economic Embargoes, Trade Sanctions, Prohibited Parties, and Anti-boycotting Laws


U.S. laws and regulations restrict and/or prohibit U.S. persons from traveling to, engaging in transactions with, or providing support to certain countries, individuals, and entities, unless the activity is licensed by the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC). 

  • Country-based restrictions, in the form of economic embargoes, trade sanctions programs, export controls, and anti-boycotting laws, differ in scope based on the subject country and do change from time to time. 
  • Individual and entity prohibitions, which are also subject to change, are program-specific and include designations related to anti-terrorism, narcotics and firearms trafficking, as well as certain country sanctions programs.

Penalties for violations can be severe.  In addition to the U.S. laws and regulations, Yale policies may restrict and/or prohibit students from traveling to certain countries using Yale funds. 

For more information on the specific types of sanctions, click on the Sanctions & Embargoes, Prohibited Parties, or Anti-Boycotting Laws menus on the right.